About the School

“Empowering students to develop lifelong positive growth”through“The provision of programs that develop an enhanced understanding of self and others, and the skills required to contribute to a positive community and sustainable environment.”

Rubicon Outdoor School is a residential outdoor school operated by the Department of Education and Training (DET) working with secondary school aged students.

Rubicon acknowledges the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the first inhabitants of the nation and the traditional custodians of the lands where we live, learn and work. We pay our respect to those elders past and present, and the emerging and future leaders of those peoples.

Rubicon delivers Victorian Curriculum-based educational programs to Victorian government schools. Teaching and learning occur primarily in outdoor spaces, both onsite at the campuses and offsite. The outdoor spaces provide a teaching environment that enables high levels of student engagement and authentic learning experiences.

A strong focus on modelling sustainable and well-being practices and strategies are foundational to student learning as well as empowering students to develop beliefs, values, attitudes and behaviours that will lead to life-long positive growth. Students achieve success through a customised learning journey within a small community, living in a healthy, happy, and safe environment.

Rubicon operates as an integral component of DET and shares across its students, staff, councillors and community, the cultures of Mutual Respect, Attentive Listening, Appreciations, and the Right to Pass.

Rubicon comprises two campuses: Thornton Campus is located in the picturesque Rubicon Valley approximately 100 km north-east of Melbourne, on the edge of the Great Dividing Range. The Nayook Campus, located near Neerim Junction at the foot of Mt Baw Baw, is approximately 100 km east of Melbourne in a bush setting.

Rubicon is a member of the Residential Outdoor Schools Association (ROSA). Comprising seven campuses across the state, ROSA schools work to provide affordable, high-quality educational programs Victorian state government school students.